Larry D. Ford, CEO / Owner SJH GreenSteam

Media Contact:  Larry D. Ford


April 18, 2015 – May 16, 2015

Free Toy cleaning drive

Free cleaning, sanitizing and disinfecting toys at local daycare centers.  Limited only to play toys currently use at the centers.  We will not clean any outside toys, or play gyms during this free promotion. Cleaning time is 30-minute max.  Saturday schedule only.  Cleaning service will begin from April 18 through May 16, 2015. Don’t delay, schedule your 30-minute appointment today. Questions, call us at  972-464-8005 or email at This is a free no cost or obligation limited service offered to our local daycare centers within the Dallas, Fort Worth, TX metro area.

SJH GreenSteam-Sanitizing daycare toys advertisement

Irving Blog

The Irving-Carrollton NAACP recently held its 14th Annual Freedom Fund Luncheon at the Westin DFW Hotel in Irving. The luncheon honored the memory of Gerry Gilliam, a former NAACP officer who died in August. The speaker was Alex Holley, a graduate of MacArthur High School who now is the co-host of Fox’s Good Day Philadelphia. She earned a journalism degree from the University of Missouri. Holley opened her remarks with a comment about working for Fox, but noted “someone has to infiltrate from the inside … like Clarice Tinsley here in Dallas.” She went on to stress the need for parents and community leaders to be role models for black youth.

Following her talk, chapter president Tony Grimes presented several awards. Business Owner of the Year Award went to Larry D. Ford of Carrollton, owner and operator of SJH GreenSteam, which provides jobs even to those who have been incarcerated. Mary N. Perry, an ESL kindergarten teacher at Thomas Haley Elementary School, received the Educator of the Year Award. A longtime educator, she also mentors new kindergarten teachers at her school and tutors struggling students.

The Fletcher Yates Community Service Award went to two individuals — A. D. Jenkins and the Rev. Willie Rainwater. Jenkins, a former Irving ISD school board member and founder of B.I.G. D.O.G.S. Youth Organization, stays involved in many school and community groups. Rainwater grew up in segregated Carrollton and helped end racism by starting the nonprofit Christ Community Connection. Capt. Jonathan “Jon” Timpf received the Excellence in Law Enforcement Award, and Shirley Demus Tarpley was given the Trailblazer of Valor Award.

The J. R. Sheppard Clergy of the Year Award was given to Pastor Don George of Calvary Church, but he was unable to attend. Among the guests were Irving Police Chief Larry Boyd, Irving ISD board member Nell Anne Hunt, Judge Glen Holley, Judge Katy Hubener and Texas House District 105 candidate Susan Motley. Jazz Juniors provided entertainment. To learn more about the chapter, call Grimes at 972-259-3909.

NAACP Small Business Award
SJH GreenSteam Team during the NAACP Small Business Award Ceremony

Additional information on contract services

15 + 8 =

Print Friendly, PDF & Email